Thursday, March 11, 2010

Congratulations Griffins! Conference and Conference tournament Champs

The Westminster Basketball team won the Conference Tournament Championships in a close game on Monday March 8th, 2010. The Griffins will head off to Kansas City on Monday March 15th for Nationals


SALT LAKE CITY – Frontier Conference Commissioner Kent Paulson announced the 2009-2010 men's basketball all-conference team today. Westminster placed Weston Anderson, Blair Prowse, and Ben Walker on the first team. Griffins head coach Tommy Connor was named the Coach of the Year.

“I’m very happy for our three players that made the first team,” Connor said. “All three have had terrific years and are very deserving of being named first team all-conference.”

Anderson, a 6-4 senior guard from Salt Lake City, is averaging 12.7 points per game and is third in the conference in assists at 3.7 per contest. He has scored in double figures 24 times this season. Anderson was named second team all-conference last season.

Prowse, a 6-4 senior guard from South Jordan, Utah, in ninth in the conference in scoring at 14.9 points per game and his 2.9 treys per night is the second most in the Frontier. He has led the team in scoring 11 times this season and has reached double figures on 21 occasions. Prowse was named first team all-conference during his sophomore season of 2007-08.

Walker, a 6-7 junior forward from Lehi, Utah, makes the first team during his first season at Westminster. He leads the team in scoring and rebounding and is his 67.4% field goal percentage is third nationally. He has 42 blocked shots this season which puts him on top of the school single season and career leader board.

The three players in the first team matches a school record set two other times. The Griffins also placed three on the first team following the 2005-06 and 2007-08 seasons.

This marks the fifth time that Connor has been named the Coach of the year by the Frontier Conference.